Don't have a TCI SuperCoder account yet? Become a Member >>

Regular Price: $24.95

Ask An Expert Starting at $24.95
Have a medical coding or compliance question? Don’t sacrifice your valuable time to endless research. Choose Ask an Expert to get clear answers from the TCI SuperCoder team. And here’s a tip for the budget-conscious: Select the 12-question pack to get the best rate per question!

Browse Past Questions By Specialty

+View all


Lynn Posted Mon 23rd of September, 2013 15:22:49 PM

How would you code water-cooled rfa of s1, s2 and s3? Can you code 64640 x 3?

SuperCoder Answered Mon 23rd of September, 2013 17:29:34 PM


For the lumbar or sacral spinal region, start with 64635 (Destruction by neurolytic agent, paravertebral facet joint nerve[s] with imaging guidance [fluoroscopy or CT]; lumbar or sacral, single facet joint) for the initial destruction. Add +64636 (... lumbar or sacral, each additional facet joint [List separately in addition to code for primary procedure]) for each additional level.

The "code first" reference you mention relates to the fact that codes 64635 and +64636 both address destruction at the lumbar/sacral levels. You must report a destruction with 64635 before you can report additional destructions with +64636.

Related Topics